The Seven Chakras

In the world of complementary medicine the word Chakra pops up quite a bit. That’s fine if you know it they means; not so great, if you don’t.

“The 7 Chakra’s are the energy centers in our body in which energy flows through.”

Chakras are circular vortexes of energy lying across seven different points on our spinal column. They are connected to different glands and organs in the body and are responsible for uniform distribution of ‘chi’ (also called ‘prana of life energy’).

You can think of Chakras as invisible, rechargeable batteries.”

Sound’s crazy right? But just like sleep recharges your brain, your Chakras are charged and recharged through contact with the stream of energy in the atmosphere around us. Think of how a relaxing moment makes you feel chilled, and then think of how an exciting adventure pumps your adrenalin, all charging your body. 

“Chakras connect your spiritual bodies to your physical one.”

They regulate the flow of energy throughout the electrical network (meridians) that runs through the physical body, just like you nervous system or your veins & arteries. Believe it or not, the body’s electrical system resembles the wiring in a house! It allows electrical current to be sent to every part, and is ready for use when needed.

Sometimes Chakras become blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems. If the body’s ‘energy system’ can not flow freely it is likely that problems will occur. The consequence of irregular energy flow may result in physical illness and discomfort or a sense of being mentally and emotionally out of balance.

“Re-balance and recharge your Chakras for a scene of well-being”

When there is a disruption in energy flow or a blockage in any of your Chakras, irregular energy flow may result in discomfort or a sense of being mentally and emotionally out of balance and in some cases, physical illness. Each Chakra is represented by a specific colour. If you feel out of balance and can identify what is out, a simple effort like wearing the colour related to the Chakra can help re-balance your Chakra. 


“The 7 Chakras”

Violet: The Crown

Located at the top of your head, the crown Chakra is associate with the cerebral cortex, central nervous system and the pituita ry gland. It is concerned with information, understanding, acceptance and bliss. It is said to be your own place of connection and personal destiny. Blockage can manifest as psychological problems

Indigo: The Third Eye

Interestingly, this Chakra is a combination of your throat and root Chakras. It is located at the centre of your forehead at eye level or slightly above. It is the Chakra of question, perception and knowing. It is concerned with inner vision, intuition and wisdom. Your dreams for this life and recollections of other lifetimes are held in this Chakra. Blockage may manifest as problems like lack of foresight, mental rigidity, ‘selective’ memory and depression.

Blue: The Throat

The throat Charka is strongly associated with the ability to communicate and listen. When balanced, it allows artistic ability and expressiveness through creativity, self-expression and judgement. It is associated with your Neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands. It is concerned with the senses of inner and outer hearing, the synthesising of ideas, healing, transformation and purification. Blockage can show up as creative blocks, dishonesty or general problems in communicating ones needs to others. Swollen glands in the throat and neck or ear problems are linked to an unbalanced throat Chakra.

Green: the Heart

The heart Chakra is the centre of love, compassion, harmony and peace. A weak heart Chakra is responsible for sabotaging relationships through distrust, anger and envy. The Asians say that this is the house of the soul. This Chakra is Associate with your lungs, heart, arms hands and thymus gland. We fall in love through our heart Chakra, then that feeling of unconditional love moves to the emotional centre or base Chakra where strong feelings of attraction can be released. Blockage can show itself as immune system , lung and heart problems, or manifest as inhumanity, lack of compassion or unprincipled behaviour.

Yellow: The Solar Plexus

Never understimate the power of the solar plexus, (or the colour yellow) as it is responsible for personal and professional success. When balanced, it allows confidence, happiness, energy and respect. This chakra is also concerned with the digestive system, muscles, pancreas and adrenals. It is the seat of your emotional life. Feelings of personal power, laughter, joy and anger are associated with this centre. Your sensitivity, ambition and ability to achieve are stored here. Blockage may manifest as anger, frustration, lack of direction or a sense of victimisation. Have your morning coffee in a yellow mug, after all it’s the little things that help!

Orange: The Sacral (or naval Chakra)

Located between the base of your spine and your navel relates to the water element in the human body, and impacts sexuality, reproductive function, joy, desire, compassion and creativity . It is associated with your lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and your reproductive organs and glands. It is concerned with emotion. This chakra represents desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity. Blockage may manifests as emotional problems, compulsive or obsessive behaviour and sexual guilt.

Red: The Root

The Chakra closest to the earth, defines our relation to earth and impacts passion, vitality and survival instincts. It’s function is concerned with earthly grounding and physical survival. This Chakra is associated with your legs, feet, bones, large intestine and adrenal glands. It controls your fight or flight response. Blockage may manifest as paranoia, fear, procrastination and defensiveness.

If you can relate to any of these Charkras, and feel you may be unbalanced in any one (or more) why not wear a piece of clothing next to the Chakra in it’s relative colour. I promise it will help re-balance.

Will you be drinking coffee from a yellow cup in the morning? Or even associating the colour green with love?

Donna-Marie xx


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s